The Sunbaked King

Sun Setting, King Leaving

Just for a month. But in the blogosphere, a month is a pretty long time. You’ll get pushed back down in those auto-updating blog rolls, and before you know it, your last post was “1 month ago“, and people will have forgotten about you.ย No matter. You have to make certain sacrifices in order to succeed. This is one of them.

Before I leave, however, a few words:

1. I am going on a study break. Serious this time. Jel has imposed a ban on the Internet for me, thinking it might be for the good. I concurred. Although my interest in games such as Restaurant City has waned somewhat, the allure of Facebook is still too strong, and I can spend hours browsing forums and TV show recaps and blogs.

2. My next two weekends are “booked,” and as much as I want to study full-time, I would have to make a special excuse for these two. This Saturday, I will be going to the Archuleta/Cook concert. The price of cancellation is not even worth discussing, so that’s that. The weekend after this, I will be attending the AJSS reunion. It’s just the best summer of my life, and I haven’t seen these people in years… it’s a no-brainer.

3. This is actually the only ban that’s been approved by myself and my roommate. He’s conceded to the idea of Twittering, so I still have some connection to the online world, but I wouldn’t be able to access it through the Internet. Which means that I have to do it by phone, which costs some sum. In other words, if I want to have an online presence, I have to pay for it. There is no free lunch. (Shameless plugging: I want to thank Gravity for their wonderful Symbian program. Nothing else compares.)

4. Partay-ing, as far as I know, is still within the allowable terms of the deal. It’s weird how this one got through, but I guess the old college adage still holds: you can only do two out of these three things effectively at any time– study hard, party hard, sleep hard. Guess which one’s getting thrown out the window.

5. Don’t be shocked if posts appear out of nowhere in spite of the ban. I may not be able to use the Internet, but I can still blog. That’s highly unlikely, though, so in retrospect, scratch that: be shocked when posts appear. Also, be mad at me. It may not be cheating, but it kinda defeats the purpose of avoiding distractions, don’t you think?

6. Speaking of distractions… let’s leave it at that.

I guess that’s it for now. I’ll still be following the American Idol finale, but I’m not sure if I’m going to post my thoughts on it anymore; after all, it’s pretty obvious who I want to win. (Year-to-date [?] rankings as of last night: Adam Lambert – 2; Kris Allen – 2.4; Danny Gokey – 2.8. I can’t resist, sorry!)ย 

When I come back, I will deal with issues I’ve been avoiding for quite some time now. It’s time to make a stand.

Exam’s on the 11th. See you then.

Filed under: Helios, Ra, Rat Race

6 Responses

  1. N says:

    I’ll miss you, boy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ll drop by your office one of these days.

  2. White says:

    May Twitter pa naman pala e…:)

  3. ryce says:

    goodluck on your exams…;p

Leave a Reply

