The Sunbaked King

What’s Hot and What’s Not: American Idol Top 7, Again

The judges used their save on Matt Giraud. My thoughts on the matter: based on that performance, Matt shouldn’t have been saved. Based on his general appeal and talent, however, the judges totally made the right call. I would have wanted to see Matt perform again. (Isn’t it funny that this is the second time Matt’s been saved? Lucky him.)

Top 7, Again
Disco Night

7 Allison Iraheta. Hot Stuff. Vocals: 7th + Appeal: 7th + Bias: 7th = 55.00%. Peak Position: 4th. Average Ranking: 7.3.

Ouch. It had a promising start, but like all Iraheta performances, the start is where the potential ends. Everything, including her voice, falls flat after.

6 Lil Rounds. I’m Every Woman. Vocals: 2nd + Appeal: 6th + Bias: 6th = 66.25%. Peak Position: 3rd. Average Ranking: 6.1.

I missed Lil because I was watching Celebrity Apprentice on my laptop. I guess that’s a relief, given the circumstances. I think I’ve crossed over from hating Lil to pitying her. Simon was right, she looked so sad upon hearing the judges’ comments. I want to pat her back and give her a chocolate cookie, and then send her on her merry way. (I watched the performance on rickey.org to be able to judge.)

5 Anoop Desai. Dim All the Lights. Vocals: 6th + Appeal: 4th + Bias: 5th = 71.25%. Peak Position: 2nd. Average Ranking: 5.6.

Move, Anoop! Move! Not only your body, but your voice! Move it! I like to move it, move it! Haiz, I’m tired. I’m gonna go to bed now.

4 Matt Giraud. Stayin’ AliveVocals: 2nd + Appeal: 5th + Bias: 3rd = 73.25%Peak Position: 2nd. Average Ranking: 4.3.

Thank goodness for something that closely resembles my mind’s vision of disco. Unfortunately, that was a messy rendition of the Bee Gees classic. I was all out ready to declare him my number 1, but then everything felt rushed, his vocals suddenly strayed off the rails, and… I was sad. This is turning out to be a confusing, depressing night.

3 Danny Gokey. September. Vocals: 2nd + Appeal: 3rd + Bias: 3rd = 74.75%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.9.

It was a good effort, but the performance lacked oomph. Disco just isn’t Danny’s thing. However, I have to agree with Kara: Danny is almost always on perfect pitch.

2 Adam Lambert. If I Can’t Have You. Vocals: 2nd + Appeal: 1st + Bias:1st = 78.25%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.1.

My least liked performance to date. Adam usually does the screechy thing, and at other times, he does the emo thing. This is the first time he combined the two, and it was not that good. Cheers for acknowledging the guy who helped him create the arrangement; jeers for not fulfilling my dream of a wild disco performance from Le Lambert. Again, can someone define disco for me? Isn’t it, by definition, upbeat? Or at least psychedelic? I’m confused.

1 Kris Allen. She Works Hard for the Money. Vocals: 1st + Appeal: 1st + Bias: 2nd = 80.25%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.4.

Nice, controlled performance, but it left me wanting for more. I hope I’m not missing the point, because as much as I love Kris Allen, was that really a disco performance? Isn’t disco supposed to be, you know, lively and dance-y and motion-y? And yet he’s number one. Go figure.

kris_allen

No one gets the green and blue colors tonight. I’m in a foul mood.

Who I want to go home: Lil Rounds and Allison Iraheta
Who’re probably going home: Lil Rounds and Anoop Desai

Filed under: The Couch Potato, TV

5 Responses

  1. Jacques says:

    People say AI won’t let two dark-skinned people leave tomorrow because that would be racist. Haha. I hope Lil and Matt go home. Or Lil and Danny. I dunno why I have this hatred for Danny.

  2. N says:

    I want Lil to go to ease her pain. If the judges don’t get her now, they never will. It seems she cannot do anything right in their eyes. What gives? ANO BANG HINAHANAP NYO KAY LIL?!

    *pants*

    Sorry. Anyway, Lil. 🙂 Anyone, except Kris, can exit with her. Hahaha!

  3. tristan says:

    whoever had the 2nd least number of votes this week must be really hating the new ‘save’ rule.

  4. White says:

    Why is there no blue color? hehe

  5. kerwinray says:

    @Jacques: Apparently, America is racist, after all. Hahaha.

    @N: Yes, naawa na rin ako kay Lil. Boohoo. Glad she’s gone, though. And N… no Adam? I find that interesting given your text message the other day… hee.

    @Tristan: Yes. I’m feeling it must be Anoop.

    @White: Didn’t like their performances that much kasi. Haha. The best ones in my list didn’t even do disco.

Leave a Reply

