The Sunbaked King

What’s Hot and What’s Not: American Idol Top 8

Megan caw-cawed her way to oblivion, and all was well with the world… temporarily. However, given that the universe takes as it gives, something positively nasty is going to happen later. Will it end up with Scott safe to sing a part of my life away for another week? Or will it result to an elimination that everyone’s going to cry “Foul!” about?

Top 8
Songs From the Year [They] Were Born

8 Scott MacIntyre. The Search Is Over. Vocals: 6th + Appeal: 6th + Bias: 8th = 53.50%. Peak Position: 8th. Average Ranking: 10.

I was about to say this was good, but why does he always feel the need to explain his choices?!? EYES EYES EYES EYES EYES EYES EYES– wait, there’s a lyric somewhere in that song– “Now I look into your EYES, I can sing forever.” Oh the irony!

7 Allison Iraheta. I Can’t Make You Love Me. Vocals: 5th + Appeal: 8th + Bias: 7th = 61.75%. Peak Position: 4th. Average Ranking: 7.4.

That song, I love; Allison, I don’t. Can the judges save Kris Allen instead of Allison Iraheta please? (PLEASE.)

6 Anoop Desai. True Colors. Vocals: 6th + Appeal: 5th + Bias: 5th = 68.75%. Peak Position: 2nd. Average Ranking: 6.

It sounded as though he was eating his words. He sang competently, but I loved one other performance more (Always In My Mind).

5 Danny Gokey. Stand By Me. Vocals: 4th + Appeal: 6th + Bias: 3rd = 71.00%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.8.

I hate renditions that attempt to change the classic originals by mixing in too much embellishments. Case in point, right here. While the end provided something that came close to “unique,” it should have been the entire song, not only the end. This is Danny’s lowest ranking to date. Maybe I’m just grumpy.

4 Kris Allen. All She Wants to Dance. Vocals: 6th + Appeal: 2nd + Bias: 2nd = 72.50%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.8.

It’s a toneless song. It didn’t fit his voice at all. He sang in the mosh pit, and he didn’t rise above the crowd; he seemed consumed by it. This is the first time I felt Kris falter, and, given the DialIdol predictions, I sincerely hope he would not get eliminated. (PLEASE.)

3 Lil Rounds. What’s Love Got to Do With It. Vocals: 3rd + Appeal: 3rd + Bias: 6th = 72.75%. Peak Position: 3rd. Average Ranking: 6.2.

She’s no Tina Turner, but this was the best– and most interesting– I’ve heard Lil so far. However, this performance also made me realize that Lil Rounds is never going to have that moment. She’s not cut out for this, and I predict that she WON’T be in the Final 3. To think that she was groomed to be the best female contender earlier on.

2 Matt Giraud. Part-Time Lover. Vocals: 2nd + Appeal: 3rd + Bias: 3rd = 75.00%. Peak Position: 2nd. Average Ranking: 4.2.

This was AWESOME. Everything– from the vocals to the performance to outfit– screamed “EAT THIS BIATCHES.” I know I compared Matt to Paris last week, but this week I’m going to compare him to Adam Lambert. Like Adam, I am always on my toes, wondering what new facet of himself (or his voice) he’s going to show.

1 Adam Lambert. Mad World. Vocals: 1st + Appeal: 1st + Bias: 1st = 89.50%. Peak Position: 1st. Average Ranking: 2.4.

A standing ovation from Simon. I am speechless.

adam_standing

A standing ovation from Simon. I am still in awe.

Filed under: The Couch Potato, TV

9 Responses

  1. N says:

    I am in love with Lambert. He is turning out to be not stereotypical punkface kid.

  2. Crystal says:

    Love Adam. While some people find the “shrieky” quality of his voice rather annoying, me likey! 🙂

  3. kerwinray says:

    N and Crystal, I agree with you both. While I still think there are times that Adam is shrieky, he manages to save it by sheer presence and awesomeness.

    And in the words of Kung Fu Panda, “There is no charge for awesomeness.”

  4. tsikee says:

    kerwin how do you compute this? adam is ranked 1 in all categories how come he’s only 89 something? hehe

  5. kerwinray says:

    It’s only representative of the actual score I gave them. For instance, if Adam got 80% for Vocals and he was the highest for the night, he’s #1 for that particular criterion. 🙂 Di ko na pinapakita ang raw figures kasi… ewan ko, di ko alam kung bakit di ko na pinapakita. 😛

  6. tristan says:

    objective ba talaga ito without the kerwin bias? hehe. hindi ko napanood so i’ll take ur word for it.

    this i know is true: allison iraheta appeal = 8th. WORD.

  7. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha, di ko alam Tris kung objective to without the Kerwin bias. I guess subjective pa rin. 😛

    Iraheta = Troll. Hahaha. 🙂

  8. Tsikee says:

    yeah.. its weird you have the ranking per category and the final grade but you dont give the raw figures. haha

  9. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha. Feeling ko kasi mas OK tingnan ang relative positions nila from each other. =)

Leave a Reply

