The Sunbaked King

On The Road to Being New

I’ve been assessed two ways by two different people this past week, one in the form of a statement, and the other, a question. The first person told me that what she liked about me was that I’m optimistic. She was just referring to my totally positive outlook regarding the results of our gymming, but the assessment came across as real at so many various levels. A few days back I wrote that I wanted to renew myself, to make me a better me. It’s a resolution that’s quite difficult to achieve. It’s going to be less reachable, however, if I faced it with a negative stance. Several famous people have uttered immortal statements about “believing in one’s self” and “conquering your fears” so there’s no need to rehash them here. But it’s true: on the road to being new, one has to put on the happy face. It’ll make things easier.

The second person asked me if my sudden drive in blogging (check out the numbers at the side, you’ll see what he means) is a way of overcompensating for something. He was quoting a line from Dollhouse: “People who are overachievers are overcompensating.” This comment intrigued me. A lot. I wondered, long and hard, what it was that I was trying so damn hard to mask. Because it isn’t just the blogging. There’s the gymming, there’s the dieting, there’s the bitching (by my standards, people, by my standards), there’s the trying-hard-to-do-work thing, there’s the trying-hard-to-go-out thing. I’m trying hard to do so many things at once– with my body, with my lifestyle, with my attitude, with my mindset– that it’s possible I’m doing this for some other reason. Or maybe that’s precisely it: on the road to being new, one has to overcompensate for his oldness, for the fact that he’s being the same.

On the road to being new, one has to soar above all expectations. One has to take flight.

Filed under: Ra, Untamed

4 Responses

  1. White says:

    Overachievers overcompensating? I don’t think so. What about the “under”-achievers? Or I am just reacting too much on that statement.

  2. M says:

    I have to agree with the second person. Pretty clever stuff. šŸ™‚

    Those who overachieve, overcompensate and overwork are masking some form of pain or emptiness that they feel. Whether they are aware of these things is another matter.

    You don’t have to know it right away. Maybe in time it’ll reveal itself. šŸ™‚ You know how the universe works.

  3. ryce says:

    hmmmm… i don’t think that being an overachiever necessarily means you are compensating for something but sometimes that may be the case. so nagcocompensate ka nga ba ker? hmmm… hehehe

  4. kerwinray says:

    Here’s my take on it.

    Overachievers will be the first to object to such a statement. Compensating has a negative connotation; it paints a picture of highlighting one’s strengths to such an extent as to hide one’s weaknesses. But what if you overachieve just because you’re good at the things you do? What if you extend yourself because you need to have an outlet through which you can release your inner genius?

    That is not compensating. That’s just simply overachieving.

    But: overachievers may be the worst judges of themselves. They may not be aware of what they do. All that hard work may actually be a symptom of a deeper problem: the abovementioned overcompensating. Hence, one’s actions have to be looked upon in two ways. One from the outside, and one from the inside.

    That’s all.

Leave a Reply

