The Sunbaked King

So Give Me Something to Sing About

There was a period during this blog’s lifetime when writing was such a breeze. Words just flew fast and furious underneath my fidgety fingers. Alliterations and assonances arrived undaunted upon the all-too-familiar screen. While entries may take hours– no, days– to type, that inner fire blazed on relentlessly. So gripping was the need to write that I went home each day checking out the site, wondering if it was time to blog, to schedule an entry, to read other fellow bloggers’ posts, to comment on the comments, or to simply sit there, mesmerized by the letters that formed words that formed sentences that formed ideas. And most of the time, I found that the ideas were good, and liberating, and wonderful.

That time wasn’t too long ago. Given that the site has not yet reached its first year (or its 100th post, whichever is more celebration-worthy), the “golden age” couldn’t have been too long ago. It’s kinda frightening to think of the prospect that the well has sprung too early and has now dried up: spent, dry, and lifeless. I don’t even want to entertain the notion that the events of the past few weeks have led to this moment of saturation. Have I immersed myself too much in the “real” world only to realize that I’ve left only a tiny piece of myself online? Tiny piece being the ability to write? Does the tradeoff really exist?

I don’t want to believe it, so I won’t. And writing this entry, however meta it may sound, is a step towards the right direction. I can write. I will write.

Filed under: Helios, Mindlifting

7 Responses

  1. J says:

    and you are back šŸ™‚

  2. kerwinray says:

    Thanks, Jay and Jery. šŸ™‚

  3. alfrenzy says:

    bakit rip-off ang blog title from buffy?!

  4. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha! Just thought of it, yun ang pumasok sa utak ko. šŸ™‚

  5. deejay says:

    well, looks like you’ve nicely recovered from your slump, kerwin. šŸ˜€

    keep those fidgety fingers tapping and your thoughts percolating, and those alliterations and assonances will naturally follow.

    this is a nice blog, and you write really well, kerwin. šŸ™‚

  6. kerwinray says:

    Yes, I think I’m on a roll these days. It’s really good to be writing again; it’s– like I mentioned here– liberating. In my line of work where numbers dominate, blogging is a relief.

    Keep up the good job, too! I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

