The Sunbaked King

Yearend Series 2008: The Year That Was (III)

October to December: So we’ve come to the last leg of 2008, the final quarter of the calendar year. We’ve come a long way, haven’t we? πŸ™‚

There are three events that highlight this period: the arrival of family, the case of the exam, and the grand Mindanao tour.

The Arrival of Family. Papa arrived in October for an interview. He’s been under the same company for 25 years now, and it was time to move on. During this time, he resigned and accepted the offer for a new job. As it turned out, he had to return to Manila in November for almost a month of training. Imagine my surprise and joy to find out that he brought Mama with him. For the first time since I was 6 years old, there were four of us in Manila. Just swap Kuya with Kenneth, exchange Manila Zoo with Manila Ocean Park, and remove the fascination with Jollibee and TimeZone, and you’ve got the same deal.

The Case of the Exam. My second local exam, my sixth overall, my seventh technically. I failed my last exam in June, and I certainly didn’t want that to happen again. So by September, I had my schedule all planned out. Unfortunately, there was no way in hell I could follow the schedule; there was simply not enough willpower in me to charge through readings night after night after night. Sometimes the place wasn’t warm enough, I didn’t bring my jacket, something’s distracting me, I left work a little too late, I was too tired, I couldn’t understand my readings–

Excuses. It was a double whammy of faults: 1) I wasn’t studying right; 2) I wasn’t studying. Good thing the lawyers around me took me by the shoulders and shook me. Hard. With only a month to go, I learned how to study. 21 years of studying and I got nothing? Shame on me. Shaaaaaame on me.

I’m still waiting for the results of the exam. Pray for me, amigos.

The Grand Mindanao Tour. Each year, the actuaries and actuaries-to-be from all over meet up and converge in a 2-day-long seminar. Last year it was Cebu. This year, it was Cagayan de Oro. The highlight of each trip is not the 2-day seminar, but the 2-day weekend that follows it. In keeping up with the theme of the seminar (and of year 2008), we explored CDO in a way I haven’t explored anything before: we went adventurous. Risk-ploring has never felt this intense, and I’m not even talking about the canopy walk, or the whitewater rafting, or the zipline. I’m talking about the chase to catch the plane ride home.

But that’s another story to be told another time.

* * * * * * *

I intended “The Year That Was” review to occupy only one entry. As it turned out, one column’s worth of reminiscing is simply not enough. I guess one of the major reasons why I found myself so entranced by writing about 2008 is because I found a theme to encapsulate the entire year: Riskploration. Yes, it appears that the theme for our annual actuarial gathering turned out to be the perfect word to describe what 2008 was like.

Venturing in the Dark. Wading in new territories. Mixing with new circles. Meeting new friends from unlikely places. Choosing paths I would not have normally chosen. Trying out new cuisines. Dining in new restaurants. Reading my way out of Stephen King territory. Gaining newfound confidence. Feeling newfound shame and humility.

So what did I discover in my riskploring?

No matter how much pain and heartbreak the universe throws at you, there’s nothing that time can’t heal, and there’s no one friends can’t save.

Happy new year, everyone. πŸ™‚

Filed under: Yearend

4 Responses

  1. joey says:

    Happy new year, KER-plorator!!! I know/feel/heard you’re quite happy back there in Davao! πŸ™‚

    Quite a long year for you, I’m sure… I really hope you pass the exam (tapos libre ka ulit sa ‘min, hehe)! πŸ™‚

    And you WILL… make kwento! *wink wink* ;p

  2. kerwinray says:

    I really hope so, too, Joey. That will be the second most fantastic news of 2009 if I pass! πŸ™‚

    As for the first… I will make kuwento! πŸ™‚

  3. Jeland says:

    …and there’s no one friends can’t save…

    Nothing can be truer. ;p

  4. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha. Friends like you, Jel! πŸ™‚ Wee! Thanks for a wonderful 2008! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

