The Sunbaked King

Yearend Series 2008: The Year That Was (I)

My Comeback entries (I and II) almost served as a summary of the year that was. Almost is the operative word here, because those entries never fully encapsulated what 2008 was for me. Good thing. If that were the case, 2008 would be known as the Year Love Never Really Took Flight, or, as whispered in some circles, the Year of Suck.

There’s so much more to 2008 than the fact that I wasn’t able to find a partner for myself. There is always more to life than romantic relationships. My roommate and very good friend Jeland reminds me constantly– “You make me complete” is a fundamentally wrong sentiment. You don’t need anyone to feel complete. You don’t need somebody to be happy. I say this, of course, at the risk of sounding bitter and forlorn; but the sentiment remains true nonetheless.

So what else is there? Here’s a rundown of the year that was.

January to April: There’s a reason why I lumped these months together: not much happened. Check out this entry during April, aptly titled “Holding On Steady”:

I’m neither too happy nor too sad… I’m currently in a state of neutrality. On the one hand this is good, since riding on a rollercoaster of emotions can be quite taxing on my wee little heart… On the other hand, this neutrality scares me… because the balance can tip anytime. If the gods are listening, I would very much prefer it if show time begins after my next set of exams. But knowing the universe? I have a feeling it will come much sooner.

Who knew I was prophetic? The rollercoaster did come just around crunch time, and I paid a dear price for the ride. But before the troughs and the crests of whirling emotions, of unrequited love, and of new acquaintances, there were the months January to April. I passed my December actuarial exam, Jel passed his bar exams, and we both attached some kind of title in our names. His, more popular; mine, more fabulous.Β In between exams, I took a side trip to Tagaytay and Batangas for some much-needed breaks. In between exams, I started my Restaurant Hopping and burned money in my quest to eat outside my comfort zones (meaning: Jollibee and KFC). This was perhaps the start of the realization that there are things I have not fully explored and yet could. Like the Cowardly Lion, all I needed was a little dash of courage and chutzpah.

Chutzpah was what I had when I decided to take on the responsibility of being a godfather to my friend’s newborn son. It was my first time, after all. Chutzpah was also what I had tons of when I decided to use my credit card in buying my new camera (the Canon S5 IS, bought January) and my new music player (the first-generation iPod Touch, bought April). Poverty became a recurring theme in 2008, but I didn’t care. Spending/shopping took my mind off things, and would continue to do so later on.

Things like getting sick with the poo-poo (I crawled to the hospital alone, wee). Things like feeling lazy, over-indulgent, and stupid. Things like friendships that need mending. Things like selves that need exploring.

When May came in, holding on steady was the furthest thing that was on my mind.

Filed under: Yearend

4 Responses

  1. lazy john says:

    nyahaha at talagang me wee factor ang pag-crawl sa hospital with poopoo sickness hahaha ;p

  2. kerwinray says:

    Aba! At nag-crossover ka rin pala sa 2009, Ryan! πŸ™‚

  3. MakMak says:

    Ahaha. ‘Encapsulated’ pa lang panalo na. πŸ™‚
    I like how your yearend entry, part I turned out. Impressive. πŸ˜›

    It made me want to scrap mine and start all over. BUT yours seem melancholic (minus the wee(!) part) and I’m trying to start the year without the drama, so there. The Miley sounds like a duck shall remain forever and ever, amen. πŸ™‚

    May… December. Can’t wait.

  4. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha! I want the yearend summary to contain joy and happiness, but like I said, it’s quite difficult to encapsulate happiness in a post. Haha. πŸ™‚ Hence, this.

    Thanks for the compliment. It’s always welcome. Haha.

Leave a Reply

