The Sunbaked King

Homebound: The Joke of Rain

Twelve Days of Christmas [Vacation]
December 24, 2008 – January 4, 2009

It all began with the rain.

The downpour of rain was unexpected. Given the way the sun baked my skin that morning, rain was the last thing I could possibly worry about. Even as I made my way to Powerplant, bought Trivial Pursuit for my trivia-loving brothers, and went back to the boarding house, the sky was as clear as any. I took the clear skies as a sign: one of blessings, one of good tidings. Under such auspicious circumstances, my journey to Davao was off to a good start.

Then it rained. Immediately, my mood swung 180 degrees. My legs were caked in droplets of mud, cars sped by a puddle in the road, splashing me in the process, and getting a taxi took ages. I began to worry about getting in the airport in time for my flight. The prospect of Davao seemed bleak at the moment. My mood was bleak at the moment. I was already at the verge of screaming at the passing cabs when one passed beside me on the road. I hailed it. He asked me how much I paid going to the airport. I told him that he should just use the meter; I’ll add some amount to whatever it says. He sped off. I kicked the cab before it left, got the baseball bat out of my bag, and broke the rear glass windows. (I’m kidding. But I could have, were I in possession of a bat.)

A few minutes and two wires short of a nervous breakdown later, I got a friendly cab. And with my luck turning just like that, the weather followed suit. The rain stopped. Message to the universe: Haha, very funny. The rain began just as I made the decision to leave for the airport, strengthened when I was waiting for a cab, and cleared when I was already inside. I don’t know what the time span was, but I’m thinking it was a little less than an hour.

All was forgiven, though, when I went inside the pre-departure area, ate my traditional airport fare (Delifrance Ham and Cheese croissant), and sat down to wait with the other passengers. Outside the protective glass windows, the rain gave way to a wonderful sunny afternoon. The light struck the ground, the walls, the seats, the luggage, the people’s faces, in all the right places. An almost ethereal quality filled the vast space. Within minutes after leaving the cab, I had been transported.

Even before the plane took flight, I was already home.

Filed under: Domesticated, Sunshine

8 Responses

  1. lazy john says:

    hahaha natawa naman ako dun sa warfreak mowd mo… kakatakot ka ker… hope you had a nice vacay!!

  2. white says:

    wow! you’re in davao…farther than where I am now. hehe enjoy your vacation πŸ™‚

  3. kerwinray says:

    Thanks, Ry. I AM having fun! πŸ™‚ Haha

  4. kerwinray says:

    Hey White! Thanks for dropping by. Where you at?

  5. white says:

    18 hours away from where you are now. ker. hehe

  6. MakMak says:

    Naaliw ako sa “where you at”. So urban. Haha. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your vacation! Starbucks Jungle misses you na. Hahaha.

  7. kerwinray says:

    @ White: 18 hours? Wow, that’s far!

    @ MakMak: “Where you at?” I used that for the urban feel. Haha. Happy New Year, Mak! πŸ™‚

  8. MakMak says:

    Happy New Year as well.

Leave a Reply

