The Sunbaked King

Love Letters for No One (In Particular)

Dear K,

You and I think alike in some twisted way others do not really know about. I don’t think you know it, either. But there is a connection in there somewhere, because I understand you when others do not. I find your thoughts refreshing and sincere. While I am sometimes put off by your timing and your tactlessness, I am more intrigued by your frankness and honesty. I do wish we could get together sometime, away from the people who look at us with nothing but malice in their eyes and nothing but judgment in their minds. I would love to open up to you, to tell you that I am here. I understand. I care.

 

Dear R,

Are you on a diet or something? Have you been going to the gym that you so vehemently sworn off a few months back when we were chatting? Because I’ve got to say, you look good. It’s been forever since I saw you, and honestly, this is quite a surprising change. From the way your face glows to how tender your hands have become, everything seems for the better. Honestly, I was weirded out when we first met way back during our time of innocence. You were so shy, so quiet, so contained, that I didn’t know what was going on. Good thing then that our paths didn’t cross that often, because I didn’t have to deal with the awkwardness that occurred every time we did. But now… but now… I am speechless. I am breathless.

 

Dear S,

There are three C’s to describe you: conversant, confident, sorta cute. Well, that last one’s kinda forced, but you know what I mean. It’s been sometime since I met someone with the qualities so wonderfully balanced in one cool package. You never ran out of words to say, and I like that. You carried yourself in a way only someone in your profession can, and I also like that. And your “cuteness,” well, takes a little getting used to, but it’s definitely there. It’s rare that new acquaintances become more than acquaintances in a span of few days, but there you go. I guess what we have is something special, huh?

 

Except that it’s not.
Not with you K. Not with you R. Not with you S.

 

K, there are certain fundamental preferences that we cannot twist, bend, or break, no matter how hard we try. Admittedly, I’m not even trying, but only because there is no point.

R, your transformation can only take you so far. Can only take us so far, if ever we decide to take that journey at all. You know the Chinese saying, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”? That single step might actually mean a single “word,” and I’m afraid that communication is not our strongest suit.

S, telling the truth does not make you less of an asshole. The truth must be said by the right person at the right time in the right place using the right method. That was not the right method. It was not the right place. That was not the right time. You are not the right person.

 

I say all this with much love and regret.

XOXO,

K.R.S.

Filed under: Eros, Testimonial

9 Responses

  1. White says:

    If not for the title I would think that K, R, and S were your past, not so past and present. Anyhow, I could relate to your love letter to S. Hmmmm that’s it. 🙂

  2. kerwinray says:

    That’s a great interpretation, White! 🙂 But I’m not that good of a writer to be able to create such delicious parallelisms. Hehe. Simple lang.

    Hmmm, the letter to S? Interesting. That’s the most frank of the three. 😛

  3. makmak says:

    @white: Past, Not-so-past, Present? Hmmm… Interesting.

    I have a different take though. Wanna know? Haha. Ask me.

    *******

    What did S say that made S an asshole?

    Just curious.

    *******

    I like riding shotgun when I’m commuting. It gives me access to the mirrors. I like mirrors. Save for mirrors that make people ugly. Those should be shattered.

    Anyway, based on the letter, I think S loves mirrors too. Or any reflective surface for that matter.

    *******

    Your letter to S, as White pointed out, is the most interesting because it tackles… Hmm… Nah, let’s not spoil it for your beloved readers. 🙂 (I really hope I’m making some sense here. My heart is pounding like a nail!) Haha.

    xoxo B.

  4. ryan says:

    parang kilala ko si K.,R., at si S. o is this some mind trick again nyahaha hindi ko kayang magisip ng malalim. Kagagaling ko lang sa sakit. interesting letters though.

  5. White says:

    @mak, i’ll get your answer real soon. Hehe and S and mirrors? That’s so intriguing!

    @ker, were those really simple letters? As in just letters intended to ‘no one in particular’? I really have this impression that there is a competition going on for fiction writing in the blogosphere! Joke! Haha

    But you’re a good writer (oh how I hate to sound like someone I know hehe).

  6. kerwinray says:

    @ White, Ryan, and MakMak:

    MakMak’s onto something, and it’s a really fascinating angle he describes. I won’t give away much, since that defeats the purpose of this entry, but consider this:

    Letters to K, R, and S, from KRS. From Kerwin Ray Sentillas. From me. From me to me? 😛 Maybe that’s why you think you know K, R, and S, Ryan. 🙂 And maybe that’s why you thought of it as past, not-so-past, and present, White. And maybe that’s why you thought of mirrors, Mak. Self-reflection? (Or is that redundant? Or vapid? Or ingenious?)

    Or maybe they’re just letters to no one in particular. That would make things so much simpler. 😛

    Thanks for the compliment, White. Hehe. 🙂

  7. makmak says:

    Hmm… I wouldn’t exactly say ‘self-reflection’. Mine’s a two four letter word actually.

    La la la…

  8. white says:

    As I’ve said, this is really getting to be intriguing, Ker. I also don’t want to spoil anything that is ‘behind’ this post but let me say this: I LOVE THIS POST! haha And I hope I could be as straightforward as your letter to S.

    @Mak, marami ka ng utang sa’kin. LOL

  9. kerwinray says:

    @ MakMak: Ooh, a riddle! Melovesit.

    @ White: Haha! Thanks! I better write another post before anything comes to light! 😛

Leave a Reply

