The Sunbaked King

Avenue Q: A Guide to Living

Irreverent yet surprisingly inspirational, Avenue Q remains one of the best plays I’ve seen to date. I got introduced to its music long before I saw the play (which I saw around September last year), and immediately fell in love. Not only were the songs completely relatable, but they spoke frankly and honestly about human nature. If I were to suggest a guide to living harmoniously with other people and with yourself, the Avenue Q songs would be it. Throw away those self-help books; listening to these songs would empower you without transforming you into someone you’re not (i.e., kind and nice and nurturing and delightful– please, let us not delude ourselves).

Here are some valuable gems from the play.

On Happiness at the Misery of Others:

“Right now / you are down and out / and feeling really crappy. And when I see how sad you are / it sort of makes me… happy! Sorry Nicky, human nature / nothing I can do. It’s / schadenfreude / makin’ me feel glad that I’m not you.”

“D’ja ever clap when a waitress falls / and drops a tray of glasses? And ain’t it fun to watch figures skaters falling on their asses? Don’t you feel / all warm and cozy / watching people out in the rain? That’s schadenfreude / people taking pleasure in your pain!”

“Watching a vegetarian / being told she just ate chicken. Or watching a frat boy realize / just what he put his dick in. Being on an elevator / when somebody shouts / ‘Hold the door!’. ‘NO!’ Fuck you, lady / that’s what stairs are for!”

“Ooh, how about: straight A students getting Bs? Exes getting STDs! Waking doormen from their naps! Watching tourists reading maps! Football players getting tackled! CEOs getting shackled! Watching actors never reach the ending of their Oscar speech!”

“The world needs people like you and me / who’ve been knocked around by fate. Coz when people see us / they don’t wanna be us / and that makes them feel great! We provide a vital service / to society / you and me! Schadenfreude / making the world a better place / making the world a better place… to be.”

On College:

“I wish I could go back to college / Life was so simple back then.”

“I wish I could go back to college. In college you know who you are. You’d sit in the quad / and think, ‘Oh my God! / I am totally gonna go far!”

“How do I go back to college? I don’t know who I am anymore.”

On Racism:

“I think everyone’s a little bit racist / sometimes. Doesn’t mean we go around committing / hate crimes. Look around and you will find / no one’s really color blind. Maybe it’s a fact we all should face. Everyone makes judgments / based on race.”

“Everyone’s a little bit racist / today. So everyone’s a little bit racist / OK? Ethnic jokes may be uncouth / but you laugh because they’re based on truth. Don’t take them as personal attacks. Everyone enjoys them / so relax.”

“Everyone’s a little bit racist, alright? Alright! Bigotry has never been exclusively / white. If we all could just admit / that we are racist a little bit / even though we all know that it’s wrong. Maybe it would help us / get along.”

On Friendship and Love:

“There’s a fine, fine line / between a lover / and a friend. There’s a fine, fine line / between reality and pretend. And you never know ’til you reach the top / if it was worth the uphill climb. There’s a fine, fine line between love / and a waste of your time.”

“There’s a fine, fine line / between a fairy tale / and a lie. And there’s a fine, fine line / between ‘You’re wonderful’ and ‘Goodbye’. I guess if someone doesn’t love you back / it isn’t such a crime. But there’s a fine, fine line between love / and a waste of your time.”

Β 

Now tell me, doesn’t that make you feel good about yourself already?

Filed under: ...And Others, Sunshine

9 Responses

  1. makmak says:

    I’ll probably feel a lot better if I have a copy of the soundtrack. Somebody promised to send me one. Two months ago. Hem hem… πŸ˜›

  2. kerwinray says:

    Si Jel talaga, not committing. Hehe. πŸ™‚ Will send you a copy later, Mak. πŸ˜›

  3. makmak says:

    Ahaha. Sinabi mo pa. I’ll give you a list of what he said he’d do… LOL.

  4. White says:

    I want that ‘bitch’ line. Hehe missed watching this play.

  5. kerwinray says:

    @ MakMak: Hahaha. I’ll make sure he gets the list.

    @ White: I don’t think it’s on its final run, so I’m sure they’ll be back. In any case, Hairspray muna! πŸ™‚

  6. white says:

    ooohhhh Hairspray! I want to watch it….because it’s Hairspray. But then, I don’t like the venue where they would stage it….Star Theatre??? So off…so I am thinking twice watching it unless somebody would convince me…hehe

  7. kerwinray says:

    Star Theater? Where’s that? Hehe. Kailangan na yata magreserve for it.

  8. white says:

    Star Theater is in CCP Complex….Haven’t been there either.

  9. kerwinray says:

    Ooh. Avenue Q was shown in RCBC Theater. I loved it there. I hope Star Theater has the same appeal.

Leave a Reply

