The Sunbaked King

An Attack of Melancholia

I hate to make it sound like this is a very sad entry, because the truth is, I’m not really that sad, nor do I have good reasons to be. On the contrary, I have every reason to be happy. Papa stayed in a hotel near my place for almost four days, and, together with my little brother, we had some much-needed time to bond. We all know how accidentally funny my father can be. And after the mall strolling and the camwhoring and the all-expense-paid lunches and dinners, I still found time to go out with Jel to attend a friend’s birthday celebration last Saturday. It was a good time to meet with friends I haven’t seen for months, and to meet strangers who’ll soon become new friends. And speaking of strangers-turned-friends, the weekend ended with a satisfying dinner with MakMak and Jel, with whom conversations are always a delight. Really no reason to be melancholic, right?

But sometimes, no matter how hard you try to convince yourself that you’re happy and that you have absolutely no reason to be sad, you just are. 

You just got to read between the lines to decipher the reasons left unsaid.

Filed under: Ra

4 Responses

  1. makmak says:

    Embrace the sadness and then let go. Sabi mo nga you have every reason to be happy. 🙂

    If you need some cheering up, we can always have more of that delightful conversations. Hahaha. Have a nice week Ker!

  2. Ryan says:

    hehehe somehow parang nakarelate ako… hehehe;p

  3. White says:

    Hmnnn…why should we undergo this phase? But as you said, some things are ought to be left unsaid. How complicated!

  4. kerwinray says:

    @ Makmak: Thanks, Mak. I appreciate it. Looking back, I think I had a great week. I just didn’t realize it.

    @ Ryan: Paano? Share naman diyan. 🙂

    @ White: We all go through this phase one time or another. It just happens to be my time. But I’m back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

