The Sunbaked King

Of Embers and Mud

While I was walking along the stretch of Father Masterson Drive, I sent a short twit to my Twitter gateway. I wrote: “Ateneo is love.” And I meant it. It amazes me that I’ve written about my alma mater only once during my entire stay here in WordPress, considering how well-documented my love for her was in my other blogs, but then I realized that I never really got to visit my school since my last exam. “Time to change all that,” I thought to myself as I continued my leisurely walk. As Ateneo’s fresh air filled my wanting lungs, I became more and more convinced that I was going to write something about the Bonfire Event that very night.

Come Wednesday morning, and there was no blog entry in sight.

Things Kerwin did not see during the Bonfire Event: 

1. The bonfire.
2. The event. 

In fact, I wasn’t even home by the time Tuesday night ended. It was then impossible for me to write an entry about it when I was still immersed in my renewed appreciation of, not Ateneo, as I initially expected, but my friends.

Seeing close friends for the first time since forever is always an affirmation (or a test) of your closeness. I’ve always believed that your closest friends are those who are able to shrink the passage of time. An absence of one day, six months, ten years? Should not matter. Once you meet, you talk as though you’ve just met each other the day before. Only this time, the conversations are understandably longer, and the dialogues more intense. There should be no awkward silences, like you’re going on a first date; there should be no dangerous foreign ground to cover; there should be no topics too taboo to discuss.

Joey, thanks for treading the mud with me. I think we have a vacation destination in mind. I hear Siam– sorry, Thailand– is beautiful this time of the year. And maybe not as muddy as the Bel Field.

Alfie, Pancho, and Tristan, it was great reliving the old dorm ways in the new dorm. I miss Room 207 already.

Jack, really great to see you. It’s been too long. We should never extend these absences to longer than a month. Stalker-ish or freaky as this may sound, I want to know everything that’s going on in your life. Haha.

Between the controversial embers and the quicksand mud, I found warmth in the company of friends, both old and new; I found myself sucked into their stories of new adventures, and immobilized by laughter in our reminiscing of old ones; and I found myself ablaze with the vigor (and stubbornness) of a college boy at his peak. 

Needless to say, I’m glad I came.

Filed under: Being Blue, Ra, Sunshine, Testimonial, Untamed

8 Responses

  1. joeysince1983 says:

    “Seeing close friends for the first time since forever… there should be no topics too taboo to discuss.”

    I found this so heart-warming! It’s kinda funny na before, ang totoy ang mga discussions natin. But now… *censored* na, haha! =))

    Plan ko mag Asian tour before I actually leave. Let’s go to Thai (and other Asian countries, hehe)!!! [next year after March] 🙂

    PS. Ker, the mud was really a bitch that night! =))

  2. kerwinray says:

    Grabe ang mud! Bitch kung bitch talaga. Hahaha.

    Yes, Asian tour tayo! Hahaha! Thailand muna, then Vietnam, then Japan! Hahaha. Saya!

  3. Jeland says:

    There is no place like home. ;p

  4. tristan says:

    Hindi mo na kami binalikan. How can you resist drunk Pancho? He’s 10x mas more fun-ner than sober Pancho… even if it’s hard to tell the difference. 3am na rin ako nakarating sa bahay nun ba.

  5. kerwinray says:

    Sorry, Tris! Hehe. Medyo nag-enjoy mag-usap with my friends e. Haha. Pero I must agree. Drunk Pancho is a very fun Pancho! Para siyang Fun Bobby sa FRIENDS.

  6. alfrenzy says:

    you haven’t met “drunk” pancho and heard his stories just yet. ’til the next bonfire. whenever that is?

  7. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha. May stories na ngayon? Shucks! Walang nagrecord? 😛

Leave a Reply

