The Sunbaked King

Darkness Falls

The lights went out last Friday night when I was taking my turn on the throne. Just like that, I was in the middle of darkness, with no candle or flashlight in sight. I placed my book on top of the tank, gathered a little bit of courage, and opened the door. Nothing. Not even a ray of moonlight seeping through the window cracks, not even the hope of illumination peeking under the bedroom door. But there was no chance I was just going to stay inside the bathroom and do nothing; I had to clean myself. I tiptoed into the room, groped familiar surfaces and corners, and found my cellphone. The backlight would have to suffice.

Upon stepping inside the bathroom once again, the lights went back on.

A few hours later, I found myself in darkness once again. This time, there were no familiar corners, and no comfortable surfaces. I was a stranger in a strange land. I was afraid to move, to explore my surroundings, to face the great unknown, because above everything else, I felt like I had to stay steady to survive. How was I to know what lurked behind me? If I moved as much as a single inch, how was I to tell I won’t get hurt?

As the night wore on, however, I realized that the darkness has its way of reeling you in. Instead of unmistakable fear, I felt wonderful relief. It works both ways, after all. You can’t see, yes, but no one– nothing– can see you. The world is just as exposed to you as you are to it. The important matter is how fast you can adapt to the darkness, how able you are in focusing your sight on the right details, and how adept you can be in using these to your advantage. By the end of it all, I was able to find my way out. I have escaped.

Darkness fell.

Darkness rose.

A new morning dawned.

Filed under: Domesticated, Untamed

3 Responses

  1. joeysince1983 says:

    For some weird reason, I found this entry quite disturbing/scary.

  2. white says:

    i definitely can relate.

  3. kerwinray says:

    @ Joey: It is, at first read. And Darkness Falls is a horror movie pa. Haha.

    @ White: Sometimes we have to embrace the darkness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

