The Sunbaked King

This Is Why I Study

I’ll never tire of studying.

Of course, that statement just demands to be qualified. I have become tired of studying, during those times when I can’t seem to get anything right, or during those moments when my mind just blanks out from all the concepts I can’t seem to understand. There have been several instances when I’ve decided to put my pen down, return all my stuff in my bag, and leave the coffee shop to go somewhere else. Just a few months back, I exchanged my last month of studying for an exam with activities I thought were much more fun and worthwhile. (I didn’t pass.)

All these, however, are little depressions in a mindset that has grown to love studying. I know this might make me sound like a total geek, but I’d like to believe this makes me human than anything else. (Point One: I prefer the term “nerd,” and Point Two: “Might” was quite unnecessary in that last sentence. I do sound like a geek.) Isn’t that what differentiates us from other animals? Isn’t that what makes us human? That we are capable of rational thought? (Scratch that: “Sound like” was also unnecessary. I am a geek.)

One of the questions I find hardest to answer when asked is this: “Why are you studying? What for?” I could philosophize and reply, “Because it makes me human,” but I doubt anyone would appreciate that. The practical answer is a lengthy one (“In order to advance in my line of work, I have to take 8 exams; the first 4 exams are conducted internationally, and, when passed, will earn me the title of ‘Associate.’ The next 4 exams are created locally, and, when passed, will earn me the title of ‘Fellow.’ I can take these exams at any time and in my own pace, but my career development is contingent on my passing. If I don’t pass, I won’t earn any salary increases or promotions. If I do pass, the world is a better place. Please don’t ask for cheeseburgers, because I hate pickles.”), so I just give them this answer, instead: “For work.” Sometimes, that last reply generates more questions than I care to answer (“What’s your work?” “Why do you have exams at work?”), so I stammer, “For Masters.” I still like the philosophical answer better, though. No one will ask me cheeseburgers for that.

On a serious note, however… no, there is no serious note. Yes, this is one of those posts.

[I just came from a 9-hour study session in Starbucks so forgive my messy mind. This pursuit of further knowledge is my share in making the genetic pool a better place to wade in. Darwin will be proud.]

Filed under: Ra, Rat Race, Sunshine

5 Responses

  1. white says:

    hmnnn…your thoughts make re-assess my reasons for studying again and renewed by ambition to be one of those CIAs. I think I need to start looking for a better curriculum/school for my second masteral course. πŸ™‚

  2. makmak says:

    Our discussion about licensure examinations and studying/reviewing had me thinking about what I did when I was about to take my board exams. Heh.

    I feel guilty for not being as focused as you are.

  3. kerwinray says:

    @ White: Forgive my ignorance, White, but what’s a CIA? And: second masters? Wow. You are diligent.

    @ Makmak: You passed the board exams naman di ba? That’s what matters. πŸ™‚ Focus is good, but if you pass without exerting much effort, then all the better! More time for other things. Unfortunately, I’m not that type of person. :/

  4. Chris says:

    heya, long live the geeks and nerds out there =)

  5. kerwinray says:

    Nerds rule! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

