The Sunbaked King

Sumosam

What? Japanese Cuisine

Where? Powerplant Mall, Rockwell Center

Jel and I were craving for something Japanese last Friday night. Jel initially thought of Saisaki, but we immediately discarded the idea. Eat-all-you-can is NOT something we intended to participate in. Our bulging tummies were already carrying two separate ecosystems, and those should be enough. In any case, when the lengthy discussion over food finally ended, we were still choosing between two restaurants: Red Kimono or Sumosam. Our laziness got the better of us, so we headed out to nearby Powerplant to eat at the latter.

Let’s break it down:

Food. Jel, wanting soup, ordered the Sukiyaki. We were shocked by the pot when it came. It was big enough to feed a family of five. It would have been good enough to feed me by my lonesome had it been delicious, but it was too sweet for me. The shiitake mushrooms were splendid, though, but I couldn’t get them without getting some of the cloying soup sweetness in.

The Crunchy Squid Teriyaki, on the other hand, had “sweet” in its right place. Do you know those spicy red dilis foodies sealed in small plastic packets and sold in sari-sari stores everywhere? The squid teriyaki tasted exactly like those, and I was immensely satisfied munching on them.

It would seem like the sukiyaki and the squid teriyaki were the end of it, but no, those were just Jel’s orders.

I ordered the ones I immediately thought were “safe.” You most definitely can’t go wrong with bacon, and seafood has always been a perennial favorite, so I ordered two of those: Bacon-wrapped Dory and Bacon-wrapped Kani. The dory was succulent and very tender to eat; the crab was, as usual, superbly tasty. Two thumbs up for these two. (Oops: Not too fond of the teriyaki sauce, though. I never were.)

As a final course, I decided to try something new. Sumosam had unique offerings called Okunomiyaki or Japanese pancakes, available in three varieties: the all-seafood pancake (Tsukiji), the spam and mushroom pancake (Waikiki), and the chicken and pharma ham pancake (Ginza Glam– is this even Japanese?). I chose the all-seafood pancake, of course.

I wasn’t disappointed. The pancakes had a base made out of egg and something leafy, which normally would have sent the dish on Jel’s plate, but surprisingly, the egg and the seafood toppings masked the bitter taste of the vegetable. I ended up eating three-quarters of the dish. It’s not something you’ll be craving while you’re in the office, but, when served, it’s good enough to warrant another bite. And another. And another.

Ambiance. Normal. Nothing out of the ordinary. 

Service. Normal. Nothing out of the ordinary. (This happens when you’ve exhausted all your adjectives in describing the food. I’ll do better next time.)

Sumosam is a pricey place for a casual dinner; you better reserve those funds elsewhere. But if you’re already there, and you’re feeling adventurous, try the Japanese pancakes. They’re delightful. Don’t repeat our mistakes, though, especially if you’re just eating with a friend. Two dishes ARE enough.

Filed under: Gastronomy

7 Responses

  1. tristan says:

    tinamad! haha. ok lang. ayus yung food part. nakakagutom. and informative.

  2. hodgepodgemusings says:

    Japanese!? I don’t like. heheh I don’t know but since I don’t eat raw foods, anything Japanese is included. I’m just not comfortable eating them. 🙂 On the other hand, what you ate looks delicious.

  3. JM says:

    aba aba aba… japanese!!

  4. kerwinray says:

    @ Tristan: Napahaba kasi yung Food part, haha. Thanks, thanks. 🙂

    @ White: I don’t like too. Haha. Although love ko ang miso soup at ang mga maki. Not all maki naman are raw, so you could try those. 🙂

    @ JM: Hahaha. Next week, Korean naman.

  5. joeysince1983 says:

    wow! i heard that sumosam is one of the best jap restaurants here in the country. pero ang weird lang seeing you eat pancakes sa isang japanese area. :p

  6. kerwinray says:

    Joey, I really enjoyed the pancakes! Hindi ko nalasahan ang gulay! 🙂 I’m sure you can relate! 😀

  7. Abby says:

    Nice to read about your blog. I enjoyed eating here in their new branch at Abreeza, Davao. I will try to post a review soon so you’d know how my experience went 🙂

Leave a Reply

