The Sunbaked King

My Sassy Girl

BEHIND THE LINE

My Sassy Girl

Jesse Bradford and Elisha Cuthbert

My Sassy Girl is one of my favorite Asian films of all time. I remember watching the movie in my dorm room, remember laughing hard, remember sighing, remember muttering “Awww…”, remember weeping. Pachelbel’s Canon in D suddenly dug itself a special place in my heart and in my consciousness. For weeks that I heard that melody play, I got transported back to the time when I watched the movie, and it always brought back a certain feeling of sadness, and a deep sense of longing. Even Jimmy Bondoc‘s version of “I Believe” did not elicit hate. It just added to the Sassy Girl nostalgia.

My Sassy Girl is one of my least favorite American remakes of Asian films of all time. I remember watching the movie in a theater, remember spending P171 pesos for a film that did not deserve it, remember being forced to care, remember sighing for all the wrong reasons, remember muttering “What?”, remember wanting to already go home. Pachelbel’s Canon in D still held a special place in my heart, because my heart refused to let that movie spoil that melody. Typing this review brought back a certain feeling of sadness for not getting a second dose of Sassy Girl nostalgia, and a deep sense of longing for money lost. Only Elisha Cuthbert failed to elicit hate; she was, I thought, great.

Now if only everything else followed suit.

Filed under: Cinema, The Couch Potato

4 Responses

  1. JM says:

    aba aba aba… bago ang template!!

    napanuod mo na ung original version nito at ung windstruck? mas magnda. hehe

  2. kerwinray says:

    Siempre. Para fresh.

    Yung Windstruck, hindi. Apparently maganda nga raw. Hehe.

  3. kana says:

    i think this film very great?/???///???!!!!!!
    love you…
    i prefer versi america to asia…….????????!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

