The Sunbaked King

Bliss in Aisle 10

People in this fast-paced modern world have found different ways of relaxing after work. Some go to the gym to benchpress the workload away or get a shiatsu massage in a nearby spa to ease all those painful stress points. Others head out to the cinemas to watch the most recent offerings. Of course, most don’t need to spend that much to relax– a pack of cigarettes or a favorite book on the ride home will do just fine. For me and my friend, Jel, though, there’s an activity so invigorating it’s a regret that we get to do it only once a month: grocery shopping.

Who knew carrying five heavy SM plastic bags would be so much fun?

It might sound indulgent, yes, but Jel and I indulged in items we thought were necessary in providing our daily sustenance, maintaining our pleasing and professional demeanor, and establishing order and equilibrium in our room. The essentials, so to speak. Every now and then, while Jel wasn’t looking, I was tempted to slip in those delightfully non-fattening (but forbiddingly expensive) Jacob’s vegetable crackers, that Dove Body Bath cream I discovered to exist only a few seconds ago, or a pack of that deliciously sour Knorr Sinigang mix, the MSG-laden contents of which won’t probably meet any boiling liquid in any pan (a story for another time). But alas, the Strict Guardian was there, ready to slap my arm whenever I got too eager.

I didn’t mind. We still got giddy purchasing what we did get. Our favorite buys:

Kerwin. I’m a strong advocate of ironing clothes before work each morning. Unfortunately, I often had to rush through the entire exciting chore because time forbids me from enjoying each warm second. It’s doubly unfortunate that the clothes remain wrinkled; sprinkling water on them before ironing just took too much time, and frankly, didn’t work that effectively.

Thank God for Faultless Sizing Ironing Aid! Now, even though I’m in a rush, I get to enjoy ironing AND I get to wear wrinkle-free, fabulous clothes! All my colleagues in the office have noticed the remarkable improvement! Wow! Thanks, Faultless Sizing! 

 

Jeland. C2 Iced Tea has always been our favorite drink of choice. It’s really totally awesomely healthy; there’s not a lick of preservatives in it. Who knew I’d enjoy such a “natural” drink? For me, C2 is the new water. I can’t eat without it! I can’t smile without it! Can’t laugh, can’t sing, finding it hard to drink anything!

So what are you all waiting for? BUY NOW!

Filed under: Domesticated

7 Responses

  1. makmak says:

    LOL. You wouldn’t want to know the first thing that I thought of when I was halfway the entry. Ahaha.

    I hate ironing clothes. I suck at it. Badly.

    But grocery shopping, I love it! But you two, you make it sound so much fun.

  2. ryce says:

    wow i didnt know endorsers na rin pala kayu hahaha natawa ako sa last statement showbix na showbix hahaha

  3. joeysince1983 says:

    grabe… it feels like reading a catchy ad! :p

  4. kerwinray says:

    @ Joey: I bet you can come up with something catchier, Joey! 🙂 Baka ikaw pa magdirect sa commercial!

    @ Ryce: But wait there’s more! If you call within the next 30 minutes, you’ll get this set of Mako knives absolutely free of charge!

    @ MakMak: ROFL. Yes, I think I wouldn’t want to know, except: once a month? Haha.

    Grocery shopping is fun on its own, but even better when you have someone to do it with. Especially if that someone can protect you from your impulsive self. Haha.

  5. white says:

    ey kerwin! nice blog here and i’m with you with the compulsive(?) ironing of clothes every morning. i would even iron my clothes even if it’s already done. i’m just not used to it. and i would prefer to iron my clothes myself.

    and grocery shopping is never fun for me. 🙂

    aded you to my blog roll hehe see ya

  6. white says:

    sorry for the typos in my comments above hehe

  7. kerwinray says:

    @ White: No problem. I’m adding your site, too.

    As for ironing clothes, well, I’m really not the type who does them all in one go. When it’s done that way, I never feel it’s ironed enough. Haha.

Leave a Reply

