The Sunbaked King

Sunday

It’s a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The clouds have split open to let out a little rain, but only for a short while. The roads are consequently wet, free from the bondage of dust and dirt, but they’re not flooded. Cars speed by without slowing down; traffic is as light as the raindrops that have fallen on the roads.

The coffee shop I’m in isn’t crowded. Everyone is evenly spaced out, and most have come alone. They who have arrived solo are immersed in their laptops or their books or their PSP’s. Every once in a while they take a sip from their frappes and lattes, yawn, or adjust the volume setting on their iPods. Then they resume typing, flipping the page, or attacking the controls. Those who have come in pairs or groups, on the other hand, are huddled in animated but subdued conversations. No boisterous laughter erupts, no shouting develops. 

I am one of those who’ve brought a book along, but I didn’t come solo. My roommate’s beside me, engaged in some weekend work. I share no such burden. The world is a lovely place to be in today. The couch I’m sitting on is my meadow of sunflowers; the music I’m listening to is my concerto of birds’ tweets; and the book I’m reading is my picnic basket. 

It feels so good to be free. Nothing to distract you, no one to distract you.

If only every day were a Sunday.

Bliss.

Filed under: Sunshine

5 Responses

  1. Ken Senti says:

    pabasa ng Watership Down after! ^_^

  2. kerwinray says:

    @Ken: Si Jel daw muna, Ken. Pero sure sure! 🙂

  3. makmak says:

    Aw. Sounds nice. I intended to go to the gym yesterday but I prefer cozying up in my nook, and catch up with my Will & Grace DVDs.

    As if I haven’t seen enough of it to last me a lifetime.

    Haven’t read a good book lately. And I’m having second thoughts doing Twilight. ^^,

  4. JM says:

    aba aba aba. mukhang nakapagrelax ka this weekend. hehe

    at hindi mo pa dn ako matatalo. hehe

    makmak: read twilight. I had second thoughts din before. ngaun, i can’t put it down! ahaha

  5. kerwinray says:

    @ MakMak: When we arrived from the coffee shop, Jel and I resumed watching Eli Stone. It’s a really wonderful TV series. You might want to grab a copy. (It has musical numbers and George Michael. Grrrrreat!)

    @ JM: Yup, relaxing nga. Hehe. Saya tumambay sa Starbucks na walang iniisip. Haha.

    Anong oras ka nakarating kanina? 9.05 AM ako. Haha.

Leave a Reply

