The Sunbaked King

FlapJacks

What? Breakfast Cuisine (if there is such a thing)

Where? Greenbelt 2, Ayala Center, Makati City

 

Let’s break it down:

Food. Jeland ordered Country Ham, which, according to their menu, is a “thick slick of ham steak cooked in honey butter sauce, served with griddle potatoes, 2 eggs any style, and house salad.” Jel chose to have his eggs scrambled. I, on the other hand, opted to try out the Smoked Cheese Sausage, which is a “poached sausage stuffed with chunky cheese, served with spiced potato salad, toast, and 2 eggs any style.” I chose to have my eggs cooked sunny-side up, which is the only way I’ll have them.

The Country Ham was superb. I think I’ll have more of that honey butter sauce on all my meats next time. The square thing you see on the left side might seem small, but it was more than enough to keep me full.

At this point you might be wondering what I’m doing eating my roommate’s dish, and you would be right: I did exchange my Smoked Cheese Sausage with his ham. While any little kid would love cheese in their hotdogs and sausages, the sausage I was served was just really difficult to digest. It was really huge, and for some reason, I got turned off by its size. Furthermore, I’m not really that fond of sausages (I prefer hotdogs myself), so it would take a really extraordinary variety to make me eat it all. Unfortunately, the FlapJacks Smoked Cheese Sausage was not that particular sausage for me.

The rest of the food was standard breakfast fare, which meant, of course, that they were delicious. Even the potatoes, despite having some kind of an onion topping, grew on me.

 4.5  out of 5

Ambiance. The place looked and felt cozy. The bright yellows and oranges on the walls and on the couches infused a bright, sunshine-y atmosphere into the restaurant, which was appropriate for the food it was serving. 

4  out of 5

Service. The servers were very attentive to our needs, although initially, we had to catch their attention before they took our orders. They looked relaxed and, dare I say it again, sunshine-y. And look! A specialized stamp for each server! It’s a nice touch, especially for people who love calling servers by their names. “Weng, do you think I can have more black pepper on this? Thanks.” One thing that bothered me about the stamp, though, just a little pet peeve of mine– what’s with the quotations marks in “SERVER” for? Ak!

4  out of 5

All in all, we had a good time in FlapJacks.

Filed under: Gastronomy

2 Responses

  1. miss says:

    hmmm…that looks yummy.

Leave a Reply

