The Sunbaked King

Walang Pasok!

I’m sure all of you guys remember that Nescafe commercial where all these guys come out of their dorm rooms, look at one another, and shout, “Walang pasoooook!” The image resounded deeply during those days when I was but a wee college boy in the dorm, not because we love coffee in the morning (I only drink coffee when I study), but because the idea of having no classes is such a rarity it’s almost a threatened species.

In the corporate world, having no work is an endangered species, close to the brink of extinction.

Imagine my joy when I was informed that today was Manila Day, and that employees based in Manila will not have to go to work today. It’s a weird feeling. Usually, I only experience vacations in two forms: as 1) study leaves, and 2) long weekends. Study leaves are out of the question; my mind still works full time. As for long weekends… well, ever since the government began this habit of stringing holidays onto weekends, having no work started to have less of an impact. The transition felt too smooth, if you guys can dig it.

Back in college, the bliss of having no classes came from the abrupt nature of the entire deal. You’re all set to go to class when suddenly– BAM! Walang pasok pala. The joy you feel is the joy of having been saved. Because no matter how much you love going to class, no one can resist a break. The same with work. There’s a distinct abruptness when a holiday lands in the middle of the week. There’s a clear work– BAM!– no work delineation. 

I’m reading too much into this. I have way too much time in my hands. 

Enjoy the break, my colleagues from Manila! 🙂

Filed under: ...And Others

6 Responses

  1. toj says:

    andun pa si sanjay cone ni maits sa commercial na un hahaha!!!

    yehhhh..walang pasok. too bad sa august pa ang next.

  2. kerwinray says:

    Uy! Totoo? Wow, artista! Hahahaha. 🙂

    Okay lang yun, as long as meron. >)

  3. Jeland says:

    Mas masaya pa kung magigising ka na lang sa dorm kasi nagsisigawan na lahat ng tao na walang pasok which a moment after will be followed by an eerie silence because everyone has fallen asleep again. Hahaha.. ;p

  4. kerwinray says:

    Hahaha, tama! 🙂 Kahit hapon na, balik tulog pa rin. Hay, dorm life!

  5. Jeland says:

    Yep yep, I miss our dorm life, hehe.

    I wish I could go back to college, things were much simpler back then… la la la la

  6. kerwinray says:

    Hanggang dun lang ang alam mong lyrics Jel, no? Hahaha. Biglang “la la la” e. 🙂

Leave a Reply

