The Sunbaked King

Get Smart and The Happening

There’s nothing more effective in taking away the edge of everyday living than a popcorn in hand, a Coke in another, and a huge screen in front of you. Movies transport us to another place, true, and it is in these frequent escapes that we find the most imaginative form of solitude.  

NEXT IN LINE

Get Smart

Steve Carell, Anne Hathaway

The trailer’s been showing since late last year, and it’s only this week that the movie is actually being shown in theaters. I’m quite excited by the Carell-Hathaway team-up. Carell’s humor is both infectious and witty without being over-the-top (*cough* Jim Carrey *cough*), and Hathaway is just a refreshing face to see in any movie that she does (The Devil Wears Prada, Ella Enchanted, and yes, The Princess Diaries). With a good James Bond/Johnny English-like plot to boost this awesome cast, I’m hopeful that it will be one laugh trip after another.

BEHIND THE LINE

The Happening

Mark Wahlberg

M. Night Shyamalan is said to be a prime example of diminishing marginal returns. He shot to the top with his first movie, The Sixth Sense, which critics say is one of the scariest movies of our recent times, and definitely one of the most unexpected. Then he followed it up with the less successful Unbreakable. From there, everything went downhill: the lukewarm reception of Signs by the movie critics did not do Shyamalan any favors; The Village was ignored, and Lady In The Water universally despised.

Given this trend, expectations were low for his new movie, The Happening. Indeed, it received generally negative reviews from movie critics. But you know what? I loved it.

In the first place, I wasn’t one of those people who witnessed Shyamalan’s “decline.” The only movie he’s made that I’ve seen in full was Signs, and I liked it and got terrified by it enough. (I watched Sixth Sense, yes, but I saw the twist first. Sucks.) In the second place, I couldn’t deny his genius. He is the master in setting mood and atmosphere. While watching The Happening, I was constantly on edge; I didn’t realize that the wind could actually be that scary.

Despite that, I could see why others didn’t like the film as much as I did. The main actors, the ones who were supposed to carry the movie, were not at all convincing. Wahlberg spoke as though reading from a phonebook. Emotions rarely registered on his face. The dead provided more of an emotional impact. 

That’s the only negative thing I could say about it, actually. Yes, the explanation for the “threat” could have used a little more polishing, but what can we do? The movie adeptly accounted for that: “We can’t account for everything.”

Filed under: Cinema, The Couch Potato

4 Responses

  1. joeysince1983 says:

    When I first saw its trailer, I was so intrigued by The Happening. But I felt discouraged because of the negative reviews.

    Seeing your review though, I think I might watch it. :p

  2. kerwinray says:

    Joey, it’s really cool! As long as you have the stomach for it, it’s really unnerving to watch.

  3. toj says:

    ive seen get smart last night. ok lang.. pwede na sa torrent hehe. wanted na later! weee!

  4. kerwinray says:

    Woohoo! Saya saya! 🙂 Nyak, Get Smart pa naman papanoorin namin later! 😀

Leave a Reply

