The Sunbaked King

Eye of the Storm, or Rainbow after the Rain?

It’s 6:21 AM, and I feel strangely calm.

This is the first time in weeks that I don’t feel agitated; some part of me thinks that I’ve finally managed to keep my emotions in check. Not to mention the happy fact that I don’t think I’m going to be late for work for once. Everything just feels so serene.

Or is this just an illusion? Are the battles finally over, and the time of peace is at hand, or is this just a reprieve, similar to the ones Peter and Miraz had in their fight for Narnia? Am I seeing the rainbow after the storm, or am I just in the center of it?

The last few weeks have been tumultuous, both emotionally and mentally, both positively and negatively. I’ve managed to dull down the emotional side of it a little, primarily because I had to take my exam (and that was very mental, indeed), but the excitement of experiencing new things, the joy of meeting new people, and the sadness caused by certain conflicts– they were all there, just bubbling beneath the surface. And now, after my exam’s over, when I finally had the chance to face the swelling and swirling emotions trapped under folds of examination facts, the storm strengthened to a maddening scale. An inevitable fall. An unexpected rise.

But all that was as of yesterday. Today, at 6:48 AM, I feel calm.

Filed under: Ra

Leave a Reply

